Search Unity

Just starting to create a game, looking for some advice

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by jackmaggs, Dec 7, 2018.

1. jackmaggs

jackmaggs

Hi all, I've got a few general questions about making a game and if someone more experienced could answer a few questions for me that'd be really helpful!

So after a long period of telling myself I'm going to make a game someday I've decided to finally try it out. I have some programming experience already (in python, mostly concerning doing maths with a data set, curve fitting etc), and I've just finished an excellent C# basics tutorial to prime myself for unity (this one, if anyone is interested: youtube.com/ watch?v=GhQdlIFylQ8. I'm just now learning the basics of object oriented programming

My current plan is basically to just start and teach myself everything I need to know as I go along. I'm aware that using this method with programming can often lead to you building your program on bad foundations, so to speak, which can cause a lot of problems down the line, and I have a few questions regarding this:

1. I want to make a game that plays mostly in 2D but takes place in a 3D environment, so while the player sprite moves in 2D 99% of the time, certain moves and events within the game can cause him to change to a different 2D plane, one that is not necessarily parallel to the one he started in. I want to by able to dynamically change between playing within the xy axis, ie top down Binding of Isaac style, to the xz axis, Cuphead style. I also want the player to be able to perform interactions that move outside of his plane while staying within the same plane himself, for example: