Search Unity

Just a little help with some general game developing questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by noxLP, Jun 1, 2018.

1. noxLP

noxLP

Hi! First post here ;)

First I'm not an english native speaker and I didn't study something to be a developer, neither as a coder or as an artist or whatever (I studied economics at college), therefore I beg you a bit of patience if I'm being naive or if I say something weird :p

So, thing is, after certain circumstances I learned C# by myself and made a little game in unity. I've been surrounded by computers since I was a child and had little contacts with basic and C++ years ago so nothing special... but while I can code it I have NO idea of 2D or 3D.
    Right now the "code part" of the game is almost finished, but in the "art department" I only have placeholders. The game is a sort of a puzzle for mobiles, I've been using just colored squares for the tokens, making the animations by code with dotween, using the standard unity interface, etc. All is really cheap, I need a 2D artist and I'm really lost at this point. As I said I have not worked in game development ever, so I don't know how this things work.

Therefore the questions are:
    I expect that to find an artist that would want to work in the game just by sharing the game's profit will be too naive. Isn't it?
    And in that case, how much could cost to hire a 2D artist to make all that things that I have no idea how to do? Yeah, I suppose every artist would ask for a different amount of money, but maybe someone can give me an approximation? A standard? An example? :p
    I think it could all be summarized by: can I realistically expect to finish and publish the game without getting my bank account to 0?