Search Unity

Jumping without root animation

Discussion in 'Animation' started by spylefkaditis, May 29, 2020.

1. spylefkaditis

spylefkaditis

This is most likely a stupid question but I tend to overthink things since I'm new to Unity and gamedev.

I'm controlling a characters movement using the CharacterController and all of my characters walk/run etc animations are "inplace" (no root motion). So when I press forward I just translate his position forward. Basic stuff.

If I now want to have a forward roll/forward jump/vault over or any animation that would move your character through space, does that mean that I now I have to move the characters position by script as-well for those things adjusting his movement speed etc?

E.g. If I wanted to jump forward while running, would I have to trigger the "inplace" jump animation and then increase his forward position by a set amount to move him? That seems messy and inaccurate.

I'd be grateful for any resources. I've been looking but most of the stuff is really basic.

2. Kybernetik

Kybernetik

With a CharacterController all your movement is scripted (except for root motion). If you want to fall according to gravity, you need to have a vertical velocity which you accelerate downwards then use that to update your position every frame (when you aren't grounded). So to jump you just go the other way. The 3D Game Kit uses root motion for most movement but the jumping is entirely scripted. The documentation of my Animancer plugin has an example which breaks down the individual parts of that character in order to explain how you could implement the same thing with Animancer instead of an Animator Controller, so you might find that useful as well.

3. spylefkaditis

spylefkaditis