Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Javascript vs. Unityscript

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by rapiscan, Jul 18, 2010.

1. rapiscan

rapiscan

Note: For the sake of clarity, I will use the term "Unityscript" to reference unity's version of javascript.

As a programmer, I was initially very confused by unityscript, because I thought it was javascript (as referenced all over the website and documentation). I have since found that unityscript is much closer to JScript .Net. Along the very confusing path to enlightenment, here are the things that I found:
    • Unityscript supports both static and dynamic typing, javascript is only dynamically typed.
      [list:e0ead13ea4]
    • Unityscript supports static typing by inference, but you're also allowed to use the syntax: "var myVariable : type;" for explicit typing.
    • You can also use "#pragma strict" to force static-only typing (for performance reasons).
    [*] Javascript shares data by making variables global by default (which, admittedly, is considered a terrible mistake made by the creators of js). This doesn't work in unityscript. The "static" keyword must be used to make unityscript variables global (which isn't used at all in javascript).
    [*]Unityscript has many numerical types, while javascript has only IEEE 754 (double).
    • This caused a LOT more confusion than one might expect, since adding a float to an int will cause the float to be truncated. So when I tried to add 0.1 to 0 every frame, the result was always 0.
    [*] Unityscript has class based objects and inheritance, instead of a prototype based object model like javascript.
    [*]Unityscript does not have anonymous functions (and consequently, it does not have closures).[/list:u:e0ead13ea4]