Search Unity

Java JavaScript?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by spiderclan123, Sep 15, 2012.

1. spiderclan123

spiderclan123

hi I'm a newbie and I just want to know when using unity what knowledge would I likely used? Java or JavaScript?

2. SkaredCreations

SkaredCreations

Javascript if you're planning to use UnityScript (that is almost Javascript) and Java if you're planning to use C# (that is very similar)

3. lordofduct

lordofduct

In which case though... don't bother learning Java before coming to Unity if you plan to use C#. Just learn C#.

4. Batzarro

Batzarro

I'm no expert but I would say learn C# or UnityScript (sometimes referred to as 'JavaScript for Unity'). But if you choose UnityScript, I'd say use tutorials that are for Unity, because if you start going through "JavaScript" tutorials on other, non-Unity related sites, you may find yourself learning about JavaScript for totally unrelated things, like web design. I've never touched JavaScript outside of Unity before, but apparently it's a bit different from what is used in Unity.

If you're now thinking "what is the best one to learn?", before asking it, perhaps have a read on the following simular thread. Read at least the entire first page though. Short answer is that it doesn't really matter at this stage;

What is the best FPS language?" thread

That thread starts off with a bit of an odd question, but changes into a discussion about what is the best language to use in Unity in general.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  5. Morning

Morning

Future tutorials on that unity study site will be in C# so that might be worth the wait.

6. spiderclan123

spiderclan123

what?

7. spiderclan123

spiderclan123

Oh so I should pick C# right?

8. spiderclan123

spiderclan123

what? cant get your point.

9. Tiles

Tiles