Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Jarring jolt when cutting between tracked dolly cameras.

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Reverend-Speed, May 6, 2022.

  1. Reverend-Speed

    Reverend-Speed

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    257
    I'm looking to cut between two dolly cameras - but instead of an instantaneous cut, I'm getting a fraction of a moment where the camera moves. It's quiet jarring... anybody know what could be causing it, what the solution might be?

    In order to solve this, I'm now setting the position on the cut as follows,
    vcam.GetCinemachineComponent<CinemachineTrackedDolly>().m_PathPosition = dollyTrack.FindClosestPoint(vcam.Follow.position, 0, -1,40);
    ,
    but it doesn't seem to eliminate the jolt. Any ideas folks?
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    6,385
    Can you show a video of the problem?
     
  3. Reverend-Speed

    Reverend-Speed

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    257
    I hope you're able to download this...! The issue begins to show up at the 30 second mark - you'll see a jolt as the camera cuts. This can happen on any set of dolly cameras, but doesn't happen all the time, even more annoyingly.
     
  4. Reverend-Speed

    Reverend-Speed

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    257
    This issue is turning up on a lot of the cameras I've laid out. Has anybody any suggestions for solutions? It's quite distracting...!
     
  5. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    6,385
    Thanks for the upload. Yes, I see the jolts. It's a bit frustrating because I can't freeze-frame on the problem spots to analyze what's going on. I can't say off the top of my head what the problem is. Normally we don't have those artifacts with Cinemachine.

    Would you be willing to send me this project so I can look at it more closely?
     
    Reverend-Speed likes this.
  6. Reverend-Speed

    Reverend-Speed

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    257
    Absolutely, how would suit you?
     
  7. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    6,385
    You can send me a zip of the project by DM. It will be much smaller if you delete the Library folder before zipping.
     
    Reverend-Speed likes this.
  8. CosmicBoy

    CosmicBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    I had this same issue, and I somewhat solved it because one of the dollys I was transitioning to was not 0,0,0 on its transform component like the one I was transitioning from. Might not be the solution for you though but worth a check
     
  9. Reverend-Speed

    Reverend-Speed

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    257
    Thanks for the suggestion, @CosmicBoy ! I'm not 100% certain I understand, however - most of my dolly cameras aren't at 0,0,0 as they're moving through space on the spline tracks. Would you mind rephrasing that? Just a bit confused! =D