Search Unity

Question It says there isn t a curvy bracket ending but there is one (here is part of my code)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Afonso01879, May 29, 2023.

  1. Afonso01879

    Afonso01879

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    {
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(OpenCloseCamera))
    {
    if (CamOpen == true)
    {
    CamOpen = false;
    }
    else if (CamOpen == false)
    {
    CamOpen = true;
    }
    }
    if (MinTimetoSwitch <= MaxTimetoSwitch)
    {
    if (CamOpen == true)
    {
    CurrentCamera.SetActive(true);
    OfficeCamera.SetActive(false);
    }
    else
    {
    CurrentCamera.SetActive(false);
    OfficeCamera.SetActive(true);
    }
    MinTimetoSwitch = MaxTimetoSwitch;
    }
    else
    {
    MinTimetoSwitch -= Time.deltaTime;
    }
    if (MinTimetoSwitch <= MaxTimetoSwitch)
    {
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(NextCam))
    {
    CurrentCamera = Cameras[(CurrentCamCount + 1) % Cameras.Length];
    }
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(PreviousCam))
    {
    CurrentCamCount--;
    if (CurrentCamCount < 0)
    {
    CurrentCamCount = 0;
    }
    CurrentCamera = Cameras[CurrentCamCount];
    }
    }
    }
     
  2. mopthrow

    mopthrow

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    348
    If you edit your post to use the forum code tags it'll be a lot easier to see ;)

    I don't see a class definition though, be sure to copy/paste your whole script when you edit.

    Also copy/paste the whole error message as it contains an often helpful line number.
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,727
    Here is how to fix your typing mistakes... you definitely don't need us for that:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! See the top of this message.
     
  4. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,175
    I don't see an error (and neither does ChatGPT) in that part of the code.
     
  5. Yoreki

    Yoreki

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    2,605
    As others mentioned, please use code tags. It's unreadable that way.

    However, with errors suggesting something about your code to be broken semantically (missing brackets, semicolons, ..), take them with a grain of salt. Normally error messages are pretty close in showing the correct line number. But the compiler uses syntax and semantic to navigate said code.. so if those are broken, how would it be able to correctly tell you what and where is wrong? Rather, look around and a few lines upwards of the line given to you. Also keep in mind it does not have to be a missing bracket, it could be an additional one, a missing semicolon, a missing equals signs, .. and so on. Anythign that messes with the compilers understanding, really.
     
    Bunny83 likes this.