Search Unity

It feels like Unity is constantly putting up roadblocks

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by eye776, Mar 13, 2016.

1. eye776

eye776

Hi everyone, I've had this account for a number of years (back when they gave out non-pro licenses for free for version 3.5 or something) but I'm still a novice in Unity.

This is mostly because I didn't really use Unity at all until recently and had a pretty nice starting experience.
    But as soon as I got semi-serious Unity started to show one big glaring flaw: it doesn't really offer much of anything to help you make a game.
    Sure it makes it easy to haphazardly throw around some objects in a scene and mess around with them but that's about it.

Let's be upfront, i'm primarily a C++ programmer (with some experience in other languages, including C#), so it's probably my mindset.

My biggest problem is that I came into Unity expecting a sort of Delphi or Visual Studio for game creation only to discover Unity is pretty much what Macromedia Director was back in its day.

Also a few things really grated me (there are more, but I don't want to start a flame war):
    • That Coroutines exist as actual coroutines - I've seen first-hand just how badly they can be abused. You know, really bad, like the works:
      Code (CSharp):
      1. while(condition){
      2.     //do stuff that really, should be in its own thread or in an update function
      3.     yield();
      4. }
    • Maybe I haven't figured it out but there seems to be no way to programatically create / configure Animation Controllers object instance ? In fact a lot of objects and properties can only be accessed/modified through the GUI.
    • The fact that methods like float GetFloat(String) & void SetFloat(String, float) actually exist to get and set properties defined in the editor. This is C#, you can extend classes here; there should be no need for stuff like this, right?