Search Unity

Issues with 2DRoguelike tutorial

Discussion in '2D' started by BlackBat023, Feb 11, 2016.

1. BlackBat023

BlackBat023

Hi all. I am very new to game development and C# coding. I do have, however, experience in Python and some other languages. I have followed the 2DRogueLike tutorial up to point 4.2 and upon testing the game I encountered the following 5 errors:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Player.AttemptMove[Wall] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:68)
    Player.Update () (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:55)

Player.OnTriggerEnter2D (UnityEngine.Collider2D other) (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:94)

Wall.DamageWall (Int32 loss) (at Assets/Scripts/Wall.cs:21)
    Player.OnCantMove[Wall] (.Wall Component) (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:102)
    MovingObject.AttemptMove[Wall] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/MovingObject.cs:66)
    Player.AttemptMove[Wall] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:63)

Player.AttemptMove[Wall] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/Player.cs:68)

Enemy.OnCantMove[Player] (.Player component) (at Assets/Scripts/Enemy.cs:58)
    MovingObject.AttemptMove[Player] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/MovingObject.cs:66)
    Enemy.AttemptMove[Player] (Int32 xDir, Int32 yDir) (at Assets/Scripts/Enemy.cs:32)
    Enemy.MoveEnemy () (at Assets/Scripts/Enemy.cs:47)
    GameManager+<MoveEnemies>c__Iterator3.MoveNext () (at Assets/Scripts/GameManager.cs:96)