Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for your feedback on the platforms you use and how you use them. Let us know!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Issue with lighting simple mesh

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Hawkadium, Aug 9, 2018 at 7:48 PM.

  1. Hawkadium

    Hawkadium

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    This is a very simple mesh. One material, one texture. After the model is imported and given its material, it looks fine. However, once I set it a static prefab and start laying them out in my scene, auto generated lighting creates all this "smudging" on my models. This grass should be all one colour. And it's not bleeding from another colour on the texture because the texture is only one solid colour.

    I played around with the normal bias, strength and near plane on my Directional Light with no affect. I am using Soft Shadows, Mode Mixed and Forward Rendering.


     
  2. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    4,630
    Mixed Mode means anything flagged as static will be light mapped rather than dynamically shadowed. In that case the bias and soft shadow settings have no affect. This is a problem with your light map UVs on the mesh not being well laid out, and potentially too low res. Do you have Generate Lightmap UVs checked on for that mesh asset?
     
  3. Hawkadium

    Hawkadium

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    @bgolus No I do not. I turn off everything. I just turned it on and generated the lighting again. Works perfectly, thank you!