Search Unity

Isometric racing game and sliding/drifting while turning

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Claudio-Forain, Nov 27, 2014.

1. Claudio-Forain

Claudio-Forain

Hello all. I'm pretty new to unity and game development in general, but I've already got a cartoonish running around a course. But the problem is that the car is too "obedient" if you know what I mean. The car steers as soon as I hit the turn key, and I would like the car to slide/drift, much like in Rock and Roll Racing and its remake, Motor Rock (the turn behaviour I expect is here:
    )

First, I tried to use addTorque, and after I used steering with wheel colliders, but its not quite there yet. I don't know if I should use physics or transform to get this behaviour. Any tips? Thanks in advance.

Reaksmey-Rt likes this.
  2. Nanako

Nanako

My advice, if you're doing anything with physics, is to do EVERYTHING with physics. At least, as far as possible. It's pointless trying to simulate these things in code because you're unlikely to ever get it to look right, and it will perform a LOT worse since you're reinventing the wheel and trying to write physics in high level code, instead of using the native simulation engine.

With a vehicle only the tyres should touch the bottom. So try assigning a physic material to the tyres, (and also the track) and tweak the friction values on those

Aside from that, your vehicle should move by applying a force in the direction that the tyres are facing. Then when you turn it, just turn the tyres, and the trajectory will correct itself, but momentum and friction will do their thing naturally.

RJ-MacReady likes this.
  3. RJ-MacReady

RJ-MacReady

Agreed, learn to use the built-in wheel colliders and stick to the book with the physics engine! If you're getting bad behavior, it's because you've engineered something that wouldn't work in real life, either! :(

Nanako likes this.
  4. Claudio-Forain

Claudio-Forain