Search Unity

Is using 'var' instead of specific types really ok?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by UnbridledGames, Jul 19, 2020.

1. UnbridledGames

UnbridledGames

I recently saw a video online that touted the wonders of the Rider IDE, so I downloaded the trial and have been working with it's features, having previously been using Visual Studio.

I'm very new to C#, having a heavy background in C ages ago, and a bit of C++ sprinkled in here and there, mostly through things like Arduino coding.

Every bit of coding I've ever learned is to type things properly. Not wasting memory by using the right types, not causing possible compiler or runtime issues by playing fast and loose with types that will work, but might not be ideal.

After installing Rider, I have tons of declarations that are being flagged and I'm being told to simplify it by just using var (something Visual Studio never complained about). Delcare an ItemData (internal class) as var. Declare a vector2 or 3 as var. I'm seeing all those and it's making my oldschool coder brain short circuit.

Really? Var is ok? Is it better than strictly typing these variables? Is it not better or worse, and Rider is just trying to standardize my code? Is it actually better?

Someone reassure me that I'm not being horrifically sloppy by using var? It feels so... dirty... *shudder* :)

Seriously though... is there any performance difference?

2. eisenpony

eisenpony

Your variables will still be statically typed when using var. There is absolutely no change to the compiled code and static analysis works exactly the same. The only difference is the way it looks on the editor.

It's up to you what you prefer, but I like var because it's shorter to type and easier to change the type during refactoring.

Deleted User and Lethn like this.
  3. Vryken

Vryken

It's entirely personal preference and makes no difference when your code is compiled and executed.