Search Unity

Is Unity's Visual Scripting any good in Unity 2021 LTS ?

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by atomicjoe, Aug 6, 2022.

?

Is Visual Scripting actually good on Unity 2021 LTS ?

1. Yes, it's great!

33.3%
  2. No, it's not, just use C# instead.

66.7%
  1. atomicjoe

atomicjoe

There are lots of comments about Unity's Visual Scripting being slow, memory hungry and a GC garbage generator, but they are spread over lots of years and I don't know if it is still the case or not.

So, can anyone with experience using the Visual Scripting package on Unity 2021 summarize what is the current state of affairs?
    I'm a programmer, so coding in C# isn't an issue for me, but having to make hundreds of little scripts for every super specific situation of my game is not really the best idea, and that's why I'm looking into Visual Scripting: to use it to animate and program my scenes on a very fine level of detail.

So, how is Visual Scripting in Unity 2021 LTS ?
    Is it worth the time spent learning to use it?
    Does it actually work?

Any feedback is very much appreciated.

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Use C#

atomicjoe likes this.
  3. ncr100

ncr100

Last edited: Aug 6, 2022
    atomicjoe likes this.
  4. atomicjoe

atomicjoe

My plan for Visual Scripting was to program things that would be one-of-a-kind for specific scenes: things that I wouldn't be reusing over and over.

So, I wouldn't be using it for performance critical things, but I worry the visual scripts could generate garbage per frame or otherwise put memory pressure and make my game stutter.
    I'm not familiar with Bolt, so I really don't know what to expect.

I have experience with PlayMaker though, and performance was great with that visual scripting (and customizability too), although I stumbled on a pesky bug that corrupted my global variables, so I just removed it and forgot about it until now.