Search Unity

Is Unity Worth Learning???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GOD-sSs-END, Jun 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GOD-sSs-END

GOD-sSs-END

How exactly are complete noobs like myself supposed to learn Unity when it never stops changing? Of course, I understand this is a complex piece of software and must evolve, but give us noobs a break.

Here is a wonderful set of tutorials that are absolutely worthless now:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/tut...tformer-with-touch-buttons-for-mobile.291780/

There are many, many more like them that are much newer (some just months old). I hate to speculate, but I think the problem with Unity is job security. I feel like the programming team at Unity is trying to justify its existence by "improving" (screwing up) everything. The upside is they all get to keep their jobs. The downside is they put Unity beyond the reach of people like me -- people trying to get a foothold with the engine.

I haven't found a single, "unbroken" video tutorial that has to do with coding the basics in Unity.

THIS SHOULD BE THE RULE for Unity's program team:

If you're going to make a change, you have to create a complete video tutorial set for it or commission one. You can't just post a write-up and call it instruction. It must be a thorough tutorial (set) that explains the deprecation, why it was necessary, and how best to use it in a basic, real-world coding scenario.

That'd slow 'em down.

Apologies!

Sincerely, I'm just deeply, deeply annoyed. Gamemaker Studio 2 was an absolute breeze compared to Unity. But Unity wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't getting in its own way. All the tutorials I've found are amazing, clear, and wonderfully concise. The only problem, again, is that Unity broke them. I'm a visual learner and rely on video tutorials. I'm about as close to done with Unity as I can be. If anyone can help me source some video tutorials that will work with 2019.1, I'd be very grateful.