Search Unity

Is Unity Right For Me?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by SirChadimus, Mar 14, 2019.

1. SirChadimus

SirChadimus

Hey everyone,

I work as a 3D character artist in the AAA game industry.

I have no programming knowledge, but I'm interested in making my own game, as a hobby project.

Given my artistic background and my lack of programming knowledge, I'm wondering if Unity is the right choice for me, over other options such as Unreal.

I'm currently interested in making a 2.5D shooter/platformer, so I can leverage my ability to make 3D models, and I assume only have to deal with 2 axis of movement would be easier for a beginner.

From my research online, it seems like C# is much easier than C++ (UE4), however, Blueprints are compelling for a non-programmer like myself.

However, it seems like there are VASTLY more tutorials, guides, walkthroughs for unity development.

Is Unity the right choice?

Thanks in advance.

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Did you spoke with your AAA fellow developers?
    Sure they would advise you on the matter, from first hand.
    Here you may receive biased responses, since you are on Unity forum.
    So what you expect me to say? :)
    Sure is right choice.

But I am not worry about engine choice in your case.
    I would be worry about lack of programming knowledge. Which typically requires few years of expertise, before even thinking about game dev.
    Blueprint ... maybe. But maybe wait, until unity release its own equivalent. Is in works already.

3. BlindFold_Studios

BlindFold_Studios

This is something that comes up quite often when I talk with other developers. The one thing that I always suggest is to really think about what you want to get out of it. If you want super amazing looking 3D visuals, easily and quickly then maybe Unreal is your best bet. And (in my opinion) if you want anything else then Unity is your go to man.