Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Is Unity 2019 3 0a3 Compatibility with 2019.3 version

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by amayeta5, Jul 10, 2019.

1. amayeta5

amayeta5

Hi I'm a games design student and currently using Unity 2019 3 0a3 at college but I want to do some stuff at home for next year but not sure which version of Unity I can use at home for FREE which will allow me to run anything I make when I go back to college.

Any help would be grate.
    Thanks Ama

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Why is your college using the 2019.3 alpha test? That version has about half a year of bug fixes to go before it will be considered stable enough for general release. The latest/greatest version of Unity is 2019.1.9 right now. Unity 2019.2 isn't even out of beta yet.

But to answer your question, you just sign up a free account for yourself with Unity and you can download whichever version of Unity you want. Though I don't know if Unity keeps its alpha/beta builds, like the one you are using, available for download after the release version becomes available. Starting with Unity 2019.1, the editor generally requires Unity Hub, so you just install that and it lets you install as many different versions as needed.

Unity Personal licensing is free, with almost no limitation compared to higher tier licensing, and only has a revenue limitation before you're required to upgrade to a paid license.

RecursiveFrog and Kiwasi like this.
  3. amayeta5

amayeta5

Joe-Censored i actually asked them that same question but my teacher got really defensive and said that I just had to use what they provided and to stop asking questions.

My tutor is not very accommodating and would on even tell me how to get the version they are using.
    So thanks a million

My mum is helping me look at going to another college .