Search Unity

Is this a good way of cummunicating between scripts?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Jason210, Mar 27, 2018.

1. Jason210

Jason210

Hi

Coming back to this problem again...which I'm studying. Imagine there are two scripts attached to two different game objects in a scene. All I need to do is for script A to get the value of variable from script B (in order to use it for something).

In this example the variable I need is called "pressure", and the script I'm getting it from is called "myScript". For simplicity, I'm just outputting the value to the console.

Is this the correct approach?

Code (CSharp):
    3. public GameObject myGameObject;
    4. myScript myScriptReference;
    6. void Start()
    7. {
    8.     myScriptReference = myGameObject.GetComponent<myScript>();
    9. }
    11. void Update()
    12. {
    13.     Debug.Log("Pressure = " + myScriptReference.pressure;);
    14. }
    It seems a bit verbose. Also, I am choosing the gameObject I need to reference in the inspector...which is tedious for me and could break or easily lead to a null reference error. Is there way to choose the gameObject in the script itself?

Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 27, 2018
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Here's a couple other options

Code (CSharp):
    3. public myScript myScriptReference;
    5. void Start()
    6. {
    7. }
    9. void Update()
    10. {
    11.     Debug.Log("Pressure = " + myScriptReference.pressure;);
    12. }
    In the above you just drag that same GameObject into the myScriptReference and it will automatically set the reference to the correct script, assuming you only have one of that script attached to the object. You could also drag the component over, but I think you'd need to set up two inspector windows and lock one of them, which is a hassle if you're not doing that a lot.