Search Unity

Is this a bug with UI?

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by mrm83, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. mrm83

    mrm83

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    239
    So I am creating UI with UGUI and the insane amount of draw calls puzzles me.

    I did a little test and it seems to me that this is a bug? Can someone confirm?

    The images/text used in both scenarios are the same. Using unity 5.1..

    Test1:
    canvas
    - img
    - img
    - img
    - img
    - text
    - text
    - text
    - text
    = 3 draw calls

    Test2:
    canvas
    -img
    --img
    ---text
    -img
    --img
    ---text
    = 5 draw calls
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nixius

    nixius

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    37
  3. mrm83

    mrm83

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    239
    i am using 5.1.1f1

    i guess its related
     
  4. nixius

    nixius

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    If it sounds like it could be related, it might be worth installing the latest Unity to a separate folder, backing up your project and loading it in 5.1.1p3 and see if it fixes the issue - you could also try reading the patch notes from 1f1 onwards to see if it sounds like the bug has been fixed.
     
  5. mrm83

    mrm83

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    239
    the thing is it says i already have the latest version.. and i don't see 1f1 in the patch notes..

    I updated unity like 4 days ago..
     
  6. iivo_k

    iivo_k

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Posts:
    312
    You were given a link to the page from where you can download the patch releases.
     
  7. nixius

    nixius

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    For patch releases I don't believe unity will always update through the software as you may be used to.

    You may have to do it manually via the link I sent before (check it out). By default when installing I think it will try and overwrite your existing installation; I have been installing to new folders with the patch name in case I need/want to try things on different versions (i.e. a folder for Unity 5.0, 5.1, 5.1.1p1 etc).
     
unityunity