Search Unity

Question Is there a way to raytrace in a rasterized scene?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Roggi_, Sep 9, 2022.

1. Roggi_

Roggi_

Hi, I am looking into RayTracingShaders, I am new to this and looking for help
    ( https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Experimental.Rendering.RayTracingShader.html )

looking through some examples, mainly this one by INedelcu:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/dxr-raytracing-effect-from-scratch.794928/

from what I understand, it works by dispatching a RayTracingShader that works in a scene separate from what the traditional rasterization shows. To create any results from ray intersections, I need to apply a custom RT only shader to every mesh in the scene.

The issue with this is .. I cant replace every shader and material in the project with a custom written shader that has a rasterized and raytraced version.
    What can I do to get a result from the rasterized scene? To get an acurate diffuse color from a ray traced efect, I would need to not only rewrite the standard shader, but doesn't it have to run twice for texturing, light and shadowing? Without those calculations I have no idea if the color I am tracing is fully dark or fully bright.

I guess it makes sense that it needs to re-rasterize everything since it can encounter points that werent rasterized from the camera viewport, but it's still unfathomable that I can't use any of the existing shaders when the RT shader needs a rasterized fragment.

What am I missing?

2. INedelcu

INedelcu

Unity Technologies

Hi!

Built in render pipeline or the Standard shader doesn't implement any ray tracing effects. You can check how a simple effect in HDRP is implemented, for example ray tracing AO. You'll see a Shader Pass in Lit.shader and other shaders that's named VisibilityDXR and is used HDRenderPipeline.RaytracingAmbientOcclusion.cs to generate AO texture. This texture will be later combined with the rasterized scene.