Search Unity

Is There A Way To Have A Fluid Character?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by vertig02, Dec 8, 2017.

1. vertig02

vertig02

Hey there, Im new to Unity, what I mean is that, Im creating a first person game involving parkour and running mechanics complete with a character model, but Im not content with the stuff tutorials i found online are throwing at me. What they are telling me to do is assign an animation to something, an event for example. But the thing is I am NOT content with simply creating a character with animations, and assigning the animations to an event to give an illusion of what the player is doing (Example making a Player climb and playing a climb animation to give the illusion of climbing) It feels like my character is confined if i go that way, and there is no f***ing way for the life of me am i ever, EVER animating 500 different possible events. Nope. I feel like there is a way to make the character more fluid, for the Unity Physics Engine to be doing the job of moving the character's limbs and the character itself when they climb or whatever, instead of relying on a premade animation to do that. I also feel that by going this way Im making life easier for myself in the future as there's most likely a lot less work i have to do once I manage to find a fast way to do this. Does anyone know where I should start?

Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

The best place you can go to make your life easier is to the learn section and documentation, and then into the editor to test things out.
    I say this - because it is very obvious you are very new to Unity and how animations are handled in the engine. Not saying your 'ideas' are bad or wrong, but without knowledge on the existing system, you will not understand how/why to improve the system, overcome some of the limitations you run into and create a controller the way you want.