Search Unity

Is my code efficient?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TrueStrike, Nov 7, 2017.

1. TrueStrike

TrueStrike

Hello there! I'm new to Unity and coding in general ( started learning 4 days before this posting )

I've written a script ( took about a day of headaches and troubleshooting to know why it wasn't working properly )

Anyway in the end I got it working, it's a simple

If player is in a trigger set InRange to true
    If player presses E and IF he is InRange and IF IsActive is false then do this OTHERWISE IsActive must be true so do this.

It turns on some particle effects and lights etc but boy am I proud of it.

I'd like to know if the code i've written is as sleek as it can be and if not why and then how to go about making it work better in the future.​

Code (csharp):
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. public class Interact : MonoBehaviour {
    8.     public GameObject Text;
    9.     public GameObject Object; // Object in this case is a particle system.
    10.     public bool IsActive; // Is the object active?
    11.     public bool InRange; // These are public purely so I could see in the inspector if it was triggering.
    13.     private void OnTriggerEnter(Collider Enter)
    14.     {
    15.         InRange = true;
    16.         Text.SetActive(true);
    17.     }
    19.     private void OnTriggerExit(Collider Exit)
    20.     {
    21.         InRange = false;
    22.         Text.SetActive(false);
    23.     }
    26.     void Start ()
    27.     {
    28.         InRange = false;
    29.         IsActive = false;
    30.         Object.SetActive(false);
    31.         Text.SetActive(false);
    32.     }
    35.     void Update()
    36.     {
    37.         if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.E))
    38.         {
    39.             if(InRange==true)
    40.             {
    41.                 if(IsActive==false)
    42.                 {