Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Is my approach to baked lighting wrong?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by LazyBird, Apr 19, 2021.

1. LazyBird

LazyBird

Hi folks. Working with a very simple scene, which involves some explosives on the floor that the player has to avoid. I want to mildly light these objects to help them pop. Until now I haven't used baked lighting all that much. Lighting these objects with realtime point lights does the trick, and brings me to a total of 5 point lights in the scene. Then, I started playing with converting these lights to baked, to help familiarize myself with baked lighting and also because I've read many posts about the performance benefits of this approach on mobile devices. Since doing this things have become a little tricky and I'm wondering am I doing the right thing here at all.

I guess my first question is whether my use case is right for baked lighting? In the examples I've seen the baked light is usually a ceiling light or something that helps light an area filled with static objects (which mine is). Am I right to be using baked lighting for a tiny light that literally only illuminates one object or is it intended to be used on a larger scale? I.e, for lights that are illuminating big areas or many objects.