Search Unity

Is it possible to update Version and Bundle number automatically?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by oliver_unity892, Apr 30, 2021.

1. oliver_unity892

oliver_unity892

Hi all

Is there anyway to increase the version and bundle numbers of an Android project automatically with each build run?

I seem to spend a lot of time tweaking the build number and really I'm only ever +1'ing it. I'm a sole dev so there isn't any real scheme behind the version numbering.

I've found some old scripts online but most seem to require Unity cloud build or just no-longer work.

Any input welcome.

Olly

2. tonemcbride

tonemcbride

I did something similar recently (for cloud build but should work locally too). It calls a function in 'pre-export' that will set your build number before the build begins. It gets the build number from a free web service called https://increment.build. Just put your game code below (in the part marked ***INSERT_ID_HERE***). The web service just gives you back an ever increasing number each time you call it.

Code (CSharp):
    2. #if UNITY_EDITOR
    3. using UnityEditor;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    5. using UnityEditor.Callbacks;
    6. using UnityEditor.Build;
    7. using System;
    8. using System.IO;
    9. using UnityEngine.Networking;
    11. /*     This class will increment the iOS build number on each build - this is useful for uploading builds
    12.     to TestFlight (iOS) as it requires a more recent build number on each iteration */
    13. public class IncrementBuildNumber : IPreprocessBuild
    14. {
    15.     public int callbackOrder { get { return 0; } }
    16.     public void OnPreprocessBuild(BuildTarget target, string path)
    17.     {
    18.         string build = PlayerSettings.Android.bundleVersionCode.ToString();
    20.         // Retrieve auto-incrementing build number from server service
    21.         UnityWebRequest www = UnityWebRequest.Get( "https://increment.build/***INSERT_ID_HERE***" );