Search Unity

Is it possible to simplify models from Kitbash3d to be suitable for mobile?

Discussion in 'World Building' started by madfu, Aug 17, 2020.

1. madfu

madfu

hi.

although this isn't my first post in the forums, i'm mostly a lurker, who enjoys everyone's helpful info. i'm stumped by this question, and thanks to everyone in advance to taking a look at my query.

for context, i'm a coder and writer working on an ambitious mobile game and i'd like some advice on using the prefab models from https://kitbash3d.com/. their stuff is on sale in the asset store and i was blown away by the level of craftsmanship they have put into their models. it's clear these folks know how to make beautiful stuff, and i'd like to find a way to put their work into my game. if you haven't seen it, you should have a gander here: https://assetstore.unity.com/?q=kitbash3d&orderBy=1

before you say it, i know this is a ridiculous request, but i'd like to explore it anyway.

i've done the work to convert their free sample from the built-in render pipeline to URP, and taken the step to test a scene with our mobile controller and runtime asset management code. it was clear from the tests that without a lot of simplification of the models and reduction of the size of the textures, this was a no-go. so i'd like to get a few opinions about how best to proceed. i figure i have the following options:
    1. forget about it and find some mobile-ready assets that could look just as good;
    2. hire someone to simplify the models and reduce the size of the textures and hope for an outcome that comes close to the originals; or
    3. learn to do the model reductions myself, and put in the time to get what it is i want.
    maybe there's another option, but i'm not seeing it.