Search Unity

Question Is it possible to do arithmetic with generic types?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ZeHgS, May 15, 2022.

1. ZeHgS

ZeHgS

Hello!

I wanted to replace the floats in the class below with a generic type so that I could use either floats or ints with it. I am a beginner at C# so I was pretty overwhelmed by the search results I found when googling it, particularly since Unity doesn't use the most up-to-date version of C# or .NET so I am unsure what applies and what doesn't. Is it possible to do so and still perform the arithmetic operations below?

Thank you all very much!

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class Stat<T> where T : System.Enum
    2. {
    3.     public                            T                attributeName;
    5.     [SerializeField]    protected    float            baseValue;
    7. // ***************************** HERE IS THE ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    8. // ***************************** HERE IS THE ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    9. // ***************************** HERE IS THE ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    10.     protected            float                        currentBaseValue
    11.     {
    12.         get {
    13.                 return baseValue * (1 + (increasePerLevel * (currentLevel - 1)));
    14.                }
    15.     }
    16. // ***************************** END ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    17. // ***************************** END ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    18. // ***************************** END ARITHMETIC *********************** //
    21.     [SerializeField]    private        int                currentLevel        = 1;
    23.     [SerializeField]    protected    float            increasePerLevel    = 0.25f;
    24. }

Last edited: May 15, 2022
  2. Bunny83

Bunny83