Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

is it possible to develop a good game with democracy ?!

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ariyan-hm, Nov 24, 2014.

1. ariyan-hm

ariyan-hm

hi . im ariyan and im kinda new to game business , currently working in a small team formed of 3 programmers 1 artist (me) and a game designer and bunch of marketing guys .we're going to decide what type of game we want to work on this Thursday as a team , and im very concerned about it, cause we have completely separate ideas , this guy says we must build strategy that guy says we must build a platformer and im sure we wont be able to come to an agreement about a good game IP . and this is not new to me . my last team collapsed because of similar conditions : everyone had a separate idea about every little detail and we weren't able to design and develop a game with complete democracy.
    so what do you think we should do is it possible to develop a good game with democracy ?!

2. Zaladur

Zaladur

With smaller, indie teams, I find it much easier to form teams around a project than forming a project around a team. Chances are, you are running with a team where everyone wants to be the main designer, using the other team members for their technical skills.

3. Teila

Teila

Everyone wants to be a designer, even the fans. :) I used to lead a team of writers and I had to make sure they knew when hired that we were not designers. We write what they design. Still, it was difficult. The reason we all make games is because we believe we can make a better game so it is very hard to not...well, design.