Search Unity

Feedback Is it possible for a solo developer to create a multiplayer game?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JoshDore_, Apr 17, 2020.

1. JoshDore_

JoshDore_

Hello everyone :)

I'm a complete beginner in the game design business but have always had a dream of designing my own multiplayer game with more than 8 players in each lobby on different platforms, for instance; PC, Nintendo Switch, PS4, XBOX, Mobile - using Unity.

I've listed some questions below and would greatly appreciate any feedback anyone could possibly give. Also, I love learning so if there are any websites, video tutorials or resources I can use to help or information that I've missed out and is necessary, that would be great. Thanks in advance!
    • Is Unity the best software for developing 3D multiplayer games?
    • What is the pipeline for creating a multiplayer game from start to finish?
    • Any information about networking and how this works?
    • Does it cost a lot to develop a multiplayer game?
    • Would it be difficult for a developer to create a multiplayer game by themselves?
    • How could I prevent hacking/ cheating as it is an online game?
    • Any websites or videos on learning C# for games design?
    • Are there any legalities and what would they be in terms of publishing a game on the market?
    • How can I market and monetize the game effectively?

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Most of your questions are such basics, that you can find tons of answers to each.
    Have you tried look into answers for any of your questions first?

I can only indicate, that hard true is, you are far from being ready for that venture.
    Expect at least few years, before seeing any feasible product.
    That is assuming, you will be persistent in your goal and you put quite a bit of time every week.

But that should not stop you, to do some smaller hobby projects instead.

3. Billy4184

Billy4184