Search Unity

Is game technology a low-level programming knowledge or a true science?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gameseizer_00, Aug 6, 2014.

1. gameseizer_00

gameseizer_00

The name of this topic sums it all; Many days ago, a mechanical engineer- and software programmer whom I know tells his fellow colleagues that game tech is no science- it is only a repetition of logic and a time-waster. If that is true, then rendering is also just a damn logic? I don't do programming much- I'm a hobbyist level designer. Correct me if I am in the wrong forum.

Gameseizer_00

Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
  2. 3agle

3agle

That's a pretty broad question and topic, and you aren't going to find a real answer, as it is largely opinion.

Firstly, all programming is a repetition of logic.

Does anyone really set out to just waste their own time? A waste of time can only be considered so as an opinion, and is therefore subjective.

Game technology being 'low level programming knowledge' is something I have never heard of before.
    There are a lot of sections of games programming that are at the height of technology.
    Games in general are considered to be at the forefront of Reactive Computing technology.
    Often games create new technology that would be considered in the realm of 'true science' (whatever that is), any glances at whitepapers put forwards for AI technologies, or Hair or Water Rendering techniques, or procedurally generated content, would confirm that.

Might I ask if your friend has actually ever done any game programming?
    If not, which I assume is the case, this is largely a pointless discussion, no?

kaiyum, Ryiah and calmcarrots like this.
  3. TheSniperFan

TheSniperFan

Programming is a mix of logic and maths. For videogames the most relevant area of mathematics is probably linear algebra.