Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Is anyone having trouble creating TextAssets?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Zapgun, Dec 4, 2015.

  1. Zapgun

    Zapgun

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    Not sure if its the latest patch, but under windows 10-64 Unity doesn't seem to recognize any of the default TextAsset types. They all open up in their default applications (Notepad, iExplorer, etc) and I can't drag them into any TextAsset properties in the inspector. Is this a bug?
     
  2. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,260
    Could you do a screen cast of the problem? And which Unity version is this?
     
  3. Zapgun

    Zapgun

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    I'm using the latest version.. I built a brand new project and its working again.. not sure what's up with the old one.
     
  4. Zapgun

    Zapgun

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    Aha.. OK .. open up Unity 5.2.3f1, create a StreamingAssets folder, create a new test.html file in it.. boom.. problem occurs.
     
  5. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,260
    I think that's by design.
     
  6. Zapgun

    Zapgun

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    An.. odd design.. wouldn't it be more functional for me to be able to have a text assets in that folder? I am sure I can handle writing my own if (null) statement to handle exceptions.
     
  7. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,260
    If you have an asset there, the only way to load it, is to use general file loading functions, like File.ReadAllText, etc.

    StreamingAssets is a special folder, which is copied to destination folder without any modifications from Unity.