Search Unity

Is a platformer really possible on Mobile

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Magnumstar, Nov 30, 2015.

1. Magnumstar

Magnumstar

I am fairly new to unity, however I find it welcomingly simple to use. I want to start making some real games but one thing is holding me back. Do I create a game for mobile or pc? With mobile there will be so much more exposure and chance of success but my game is limited to mobile screen size (which makes playing a platformer game nearly impossible?) and processing power, but with pc games there is more creative and performance freedom as well as real estate. I'm torn because I want to make some extra money while making a game too, but I don't want to waste several months or years wasting my time. I've already made some 2d board style games but never released them or finished them because they're too boring! I really want to start on a platform game but don't know if I should focus on mobile or pc design. Are there any good documents which show pc vs mobile indie success rates or game types based on platform that do the best? Any advice to get me rolling would be appreciated.

2. mgear

mgear

I'm not so sure that's the case anymore.. and i think its more common that the successful (mobile) publishers had tens or more "less successful" games published before hitting something good. (which could mean years of work).

Fastest way to income would be selling asset in assets store..or going to work in some company to do games etc.

just my initial thoughts.. but of course its possible to hit success, or use kickstarter too to get started :)

Magnumstar and GarBenjamin like this.
  3. Aiursrage2k

Aiursrage2k

I guess it's how you to design the game. A game supermeatboy a highly precise platformer is not going to work but if you tried something like temple run using swipes then it would least work for mobile.