Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. On February 28th the Feedback website will shut down and be redirected to the Unity forums. See the full post for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

iPhone Simulator ?

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Randy-Edmonds, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. Randy-Edmonds

    Randy-Edmonds

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,118
    I thought Unity iOS games were supposed to be able to run in Apple's iPhone Simulator now?

    The app builds, installs and run greats on the actual iPad... but when I switch Xcode to target the simulator, the build fails (see attached screenshot).

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,600
    as far as I'm aware its not working as per 3.0 from what I recall from the changelist notes

    also for the ipad it would be totally useless as the simulator is that crap slow that you could not even do basic memory profiling (which is the only thing the simulator allows at all for unity games as input testing etc works much better through the remote)
     
  3. _Daniel_

    _Daniel_

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,650
    Actually it works perfectly in the iPhone simulator. Just set the SDK Version to Simulator 4.1 in the player settings, then hit build and run!
     
  4. Randy-Edmonds

    Randy-Edmonds

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,118
    It would be useful in my situation.... I'm part of a development team create an iPad application for a large company, the app will be used to display business data in "exciting ways". Most all coding will be done in Objective-C and UIKit... I would like to leverage Unity to create "exciting" displays of the business data. I have managed to modify the Unity-generated Xcode project to play well with UIKit and display the Unity EAGLview in a small window... but f we can't run the Xcode project in the simulator my boss will not "buy" the use of Unity.
     
  5. Randy-Edmonds

    Randy-Edmonds

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,118
    @Daniel That worked. Thanks!

    To recap... I had to set the SDK Version to "Simulator 4.0" in UNITY's Player Settings (not just switch the target in Xcode).
     
  6. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,600
    not sure if thats still needed. there should be two applications in your project, the second one being the _sim one which should use the x86 libraries.

    prior though yes it was required to use the simulator target.

    also, for ipad you need to use the 3.2 simulator anyway, there is no ipad simulator on 4.0 and 4.1, only on 4.2
    if you use 4.0 and 4.1 you will normally get the iphone 4 simulator, don't you?
     
  7. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    867
    I am trying to use the simulator target for iPhone 4.1 but i get a

    RegisterMonoModules.cpp:60:0 RegisterMonoModules.cpp:60: error: 'mono_dl_register_symbol' was not declared in this scope

    On method calls in external source files included in my project?

    Does the DLL Import statement have to change for the simulator?

    [DllImport ("__Internal")]

    iByte
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2010
  8. groovfruit

    groovfruit

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Posts:
    257
    I have a question about this too (not sure if it's related)..... but when I build to the simulator (4.1), on the normal iphone simulator it looks great. But if (in simulator menu) I switch to "iPhone 4" i see nothing.... nothing at all (not even the icon for the app on the home screen in the simulator).
     
  9. SGDavid

    SGDavid

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    So I'm running into the same linker problems in the screenshot.

    I have Xcode 3.2.5 and it only builds for iOS 4.2.
    I am using Unity 3.1.0f4.

    Is it even possible to use a simulator with this combo above?

    Thanks!
     
  10. SGDavid

    SGDavid

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    12