Search Unity

iOS Local Notifications

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by lweller2020, Jun 30, 2017.

1. lweller2020

lweller2020

I also posted this question to Stack Overflow at:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/44835507/local-notification-in-unity

I'm currently developing an application in Unity (to be built in iOS) in which I would like a local notification to appear when a certain in-game event is triggered. But before I set up that trigger event, I'd like to test that I can create a local notification and customize the various components.

Right now I'm stuck on creating a local notification in Unity of any kind.

These two documentation pages on the Unity website seem to contain information pertaining to my situation, but NO explanation is included, and I have limited C# experience:

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/iOS.LocalNotification.html

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/iOS.NotificationServices.ScheduleLocalNotification.html

Specific Questions:

1. How do I create a local notification through Unity?

2. Where would that script/section of code be placed in the scene?

3. What does the syntax look like to customize the local notification?

2. andymads

andymads

1. There is a code sample in the docs.

2. Put the code wherever you want. At the basic level all you're doing is instantiating an object and calling a static method.

3. What sort of customisation are you referring to? See the docs for the list of variables.

Note that you'll need to call RegisterForNotifications first to bring up the native iOS popup which asks you if you want notifications.

3. rahul_noob

rahul_noob

Hi, I tried this for many time but didn't get any response from the device, I'm scheduling the notification but not receiving any drop alert on my iPhone.

This is my Code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. IEnumerator Start()
    2.     {
    3. //        NotificationServices.CancelAllLocalNotifications ();      // To cancel all Notifications (If Needed).