Search Unity

IOException: Sharing violation on path...

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Josh1994, Apr 4, 2016.

1. Josh1994

Josh1994

I getting an error when i'm trying to save to a .dat file, this error being 'IOException: Sharing violation on path (followed by the path)' here is my code for my Save and Load function.
    Code (csharp):
    2. //Code now hidden
    The line that is triggering the error is 'FileStream file = File.OpenWrite(Application.persistentDataPath + "/playerData.dat");'
    Also, I am an admin and do have access tot he folder I am trying to save to, so I am unsure why this error is coming up.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
  2. vikankraft

vikankraft

When I got this error before it was because I called the save/write function every frame. Make sure save is done and file is closed before trying to call it again.

3. Josh1994

Josh1994

The issue i'm having the Save function can't run even once because of the error being triggered for line 6, however i've implemented a global bool with switches to fase after it runs once, however i've still got the same error

4. vikankraft

vikankraft

try

Code (csharp):
    2. string path = Application.persistentDataPath + Path.DirectorySeparatorChar + "playerData.dat";
    3.   BinaryFormatter bf = new BinaryFormatter();
    4.   FileStream file = File.Open(path, FileMode.OpenOrCreate);

5. Josh1994

Josh1994

I'm afraid I still get the same error, on the line 'FileStream file = File.Open(path, FileMode.OpenOrCreate);', if it helps here is the whole description of the error. (The bottom two lines are refering to function calls which lead to the Save function being called, the line above those is where the error is taking place)

IOException: Sharing violation on path C:\Users\Josh\AppData\LocalLow\Leap Motion\Core Assets\playerData.dat