Search Unity

Question Invisible Opaque Shader

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Auregc, Mar 27, 2024.

1. Auregc

Auregc

Hello everyone,

I am planning on creating something similar to a Magnetic Field Sheet. Where the player walks around with a sheet and if it gets close to a magnetic object, it displays a sort of pattern at a certain location.
    At first, I was thinking of having a transparent shader be the sheet and using a depth texture to see things it intersects And have the "magnetic pattern" just be an invisible object.

Since transparent objects don't write to the depth texture, is there a way to have an invisible opaque shader? Something invisible through the camera, but still writes depth?

Or how else could I approach this?

Thank you all for your time in advance.

Attached Files:

2. dskeie3

dskeie3

Im no expert but a few different ideas come to mind.

1. You could make an opaque dithering shader to make a fake representation of transparency, while still rendering to the depth.
    2. In HDRP you can enable a pre-pass check on transparent shaders, making it so the material writes to a new separate depth buffer for transparent objects. This causes the transparent material to appear as you would expect, but it hides objects behind it like opaque materials do.
    3. Im not 100% sure on what your intended visual outcome is, but I wanted to simply mention that even if you use a transparent shader that wont write its material to the depth buffer (if youre using URP or Built-in) you can still detect where your material is intersecting with the depth buffers opaque materials.

Hope some of this is helpful to you!

3. Auregc

Auregc

Thank you Dskeie3,
    I tried both 1 and 2 but I didn't have any luck. I don't know how to do the 3rd one. I'm new to shaders.
    This is what have for the magnetic shader.

And my approach was to use this intersection to simulate the magnetic fields using transparent objects.
    Screenshot 2024-03-27 131611.png