Search Unity

Invert Colors Shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by dandeentremont, Oct 15, 2013.

1. dandeentremont

dandeentremont

Hey guys, I thought I'd share this simple transparent shader. It inverts the colors of anything behind the mesh to which it is applied. It also has a tint parameter. Also it works for Unity Free.

I'm new to shaders, so if there's any way to make it more efficient, feel free to tell me!

The .shader file is attached, but here's the code because sometimes, downloading stuff is annoying:

Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "ddShaders/dd_Invert" {
    2. Properties
    3.     {
    4.         _Color ("Tint Color", Color) = (1,1,1,1)
    5.     }
    7.     SubShader
    8.     {
    9.         Tags { "Queue"="Transparent" }
    11.         Pass
    12.         {
    13.            ZWrite On
    14.            ColorMask 0
    15.         }
    16.         Blend OneMinusDstColor OneMinusSrcAlpha //invert blending, so long as FG color is 1,1,1,1
    17.         BlendOp Add
    19.         Pass
    20.         {
    22. CGPROGRAM
    23. #pragma vertex vert
    24. #pragma fragment frag
    25. uniform float4 _Color;
    27. struct vertexInput
    28. {
    29.     float4 vertex: POSITION;
    30.     float4 color : COLOR;  
    31. };
    33. struct fragmentInput
    34. {
    35.     float4 pos : SV_POSITION;
    36.     float4 color : COLOR0;
    37. };
    39. fragmentInput vert( vertexInput i )
    40. {
    41.     fragmentInput o;
    42.     o.pos = mul(UNITY_MATRIX_MVP, i.vertex);
    43.     o.color = _Color;
    44.     return o;
    45. }
    47. half4 frag( fragmentInput i ) : COLOR
    48. {
    49.     return i.color;
    50. }
    52. ENDCG
    53. }
    54. }
    55. }

Attached Files:

2. p13t3rm

p13t3rm

Hey just wanted to thank you for this as it seems no one else has.
    This shader is helping out a lot right now. Cheers!

unity_kd3c7c52OBFQmQ likes this.
  3. SevenBits

SevenBits