Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Invalid Project Path

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by excalios, Mar 26, 2019.

  1. excalios

    excalios

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    This is a unity on linux(fedora 29) tried creating a new project but instead i got this
     

    Attached Files:

    trappist-1 likes this.
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,908
    The problem is your username contains an invalid character '.' in the path.
    You can file a bug report so we can fix this in the future as it should be ok on Linux to use a dot in the path. For now, use a path that does not contain a dot (.)
    It may also be possible to create the project from the command line and then open that project with the hub.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/CommandLineArguments.html
     
  3. ryanclo

    ryanclo

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I'm trying to open a project with Unity Hub. No matter where I place the file on my hard drive, I keep getting this error:
    Any ideas? Is this a configuration setting somewhere within the application? Thanks!

    Screen Shot 2019-08-01 at 11.37.52 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-08-01 at 11.37.52 PM.png
     
  4. geeksesi_unity

    geeksesi_unity

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    also i have this problem. ( in linux i don't have any problem but on windows :( )
     
  5. Tehemus

    Tehemus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I have this problem too on a computer on windows 10. No matter in which folder I try to import a cloud project, I get that "Invalid Project path" message. (unity hub 2.1.0)

    Edit : it also fails to create a new project

    Edit 2 : after some trial and error, I installed an old version (0.18.1) and upgraded to 2.1.0 from it and I was able to import a project from the cloud. I was also able to create a new project.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  6. rgfhv

    rgfhv

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    How did you get an old version? Only found out that Unity don't want people to innstall older versions of unity hub.
     
  7. grlngnkr

    grlngnkr

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    In unity hub select add then browse to and select/highlight the folder that contains the "Assets" and "Library" folders of your project. Then click on the "Select Folder" button. Just make sure you are selecting the folder that holds the "Assets" and "Library" sub folders.
     
  8. andriuszel89

    andriuszel89

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    th
    thank you that helped alot
     
  9. kylefigula

    kylefigula

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Linux is case-sensitive. I fixed my problem by renaming the "assets" in the main project folder to "Assets" ... Hope this helps someone
     
  10. a436t4ataf

    a436t4ataf

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    836
    This is still broken in Unity2019.3.0.

    It's rather sad that in 2020 Unity still crashes on something as simple as 100% valid filenames.

    And - for bonus points! - the 2020 version of the Unity Hub still has the wrong error message!

    Also - double bonus points! - the 2020 Unity Hub creates the project knowing that it will crash the next time you try to open it.

    No warnings. No errors. And when it crashes ... it displays the wrong error message. Sigh
     
  11. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,908
    Have you filled any bug reports?
     
    matkoniecz likes this.
  12. a436t4ataf

    a436t4ataf

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    836
    This has been in the codebase for a year or more, looking at this thread. Has it not been logged as a bug by anyone? Do you have to wait for an external person to create a bug report before Unity can attempt it?

    So far with 2019.3 I keep running into bugs every time I open it - it's still a beta, not a full release (this is on brand new projects, on first-ever install of Unity on new machines). It's hard to believe that logging obvious "no one can have even installed Unity and not noticed this" bugs is worthwhile right now - they must have already been logged by others.

    (Unity is currently lagging approximately 2 months behind on responding to new bugs, so - as far as I know? - there's no way for me to see what's been logged already, and won't be for another month or severa months)
     
  13. a436t4ataf

    a436t4ataf

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    836
    Also: each year we keep being told that the forums are the best place to report and query about outstanding bugs and feature requests (and, of course, the entire feedback system is still a burning wasteland of deleted URLs - so much content that Unity simply destroyed :(, still heavily linked all over the web and Google).

    I used to be afraid of using a forum for bug reporting and mgmt (it felt wrong), but ... at the same time: I am still working around bugs that Unity has known about for 5+ years for which the ONLY support / workaround information is in threads on this forum. Given that ... it seems best to use the forums for sharing with other devs, unless we find some bug that is obviously new or obscure enough that it probably hasn't been reported already.

    Also: the bug reporter is STILL BROKEN in the most basic ways (it blocks millions of email addresses for no reason other than someone writing bad code!) that many of us reported over and over again going back many years. Stuff like that makes it less attractive to report bugs manually unless there's a REALLY good reason to do so.
     
  14. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,908
    Please don't use the forum to file bug reports. It's fine to query the status of an existing one but always make a bug report to go with it. Developers need bug reports so they can plan and track work.

    We can't fix bugs we don't know about. A bug report on the forum requires someone to spot it, recreate the issue and either fix it or file a bug report for you. The problem is that trying to recreate someone's bug is often very difficult and time-consuming. We don't have all the information required, the time we spend trying to recreate your issue could be spent fixing bugs that have been reported.

    I'm not sure what you mean by this. The issue tracker has all the latest bugs on it.

    Have you filled any bug reports?

    What are the bugs that are over 5 years old? Can you point me towards a bug number so I can check what the issue is?
     
    matkoniecz likes this.
  15. DEMONSWRATH

    DEMONSWRATH

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Posts:
    1


    Same problem for me and suggestions on why this happens and how to resolve?
     
  16. ShioriShirane

    ShioriShirane

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I can pick any place to try to Add a project but always get this error too. There's no Library folder and the assets folder is in a place that simply can't be where Unity expects me to create a project. Regardless, I still tried and still got the error.

    Is there a single person who has managed to successfully create a project? I'm already out of ideas.

    (ヘ・_・)ヘ┳━┳

    (╯‵□′)╯︵┻━┻
     
  17. megasuperlexa

    megasuperlexa

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    how to resolve this problem?
     
  18. vgdirect

    vgdirect

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I got around the problem by opening Unity (Not Unity Hub). File->New Project
     
  19. kauhan09

    kauhan09

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Esse erro ainda continua na versão 2.3.1, se tudo mencionado acima, alguém tem alguma idéia do que poderia ser?
     
  20. ShioriShirane

    ShioriShirane

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Não. Para algumas pessoas não há problema. Para a maioria, há.

    I have submitted a bug report a few days ago and gotten no reply. Is this really going to be permanent? I sort of need Unity to recognize assets. I do not wish to go through the process of telling the content creator I demand a refund, simply because Unity refuses to allow me to choose my own Project path. Like Why ask me where I want the path to be if it will just tell me my wild guess was wrong?
     
  21. DigitalArtsSoftwareEngineers

    DigitalArtsSoftwareEngineers

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I just had same problem now but i got it working now. it happens to be that the project folder i downloaded came inside another folder so i changed only the first one but changing the inside one too just fixed it. make sure that the folders do not have any restricted characters.
     
  22. ag0x

    ag0x

    Joined:
    May 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you, the assets folder was misspelled!
     
  23. mksmsrkn

    mksmsrkn

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    +1, just create a New Project (empty one), once Unity starts up you can do File -> Open Scene and select the Project scene you are trying to import, no need to rename anything.
     
  24. ShioriShirane

    ShioriShirane

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    None of the things I've read here have worked, but I got it working. For me, I looked at as tutorial on the Unity site and it wanted to open in Unity Hub. I opened it and it started creating files in Unity. Ever since I did that, my assets will load. It seems Unity installed without some files it needed.

    I think it was 3D Beginner: Tutorial Resources. By the way, the path to your assets is C:\Users\Username\3D Objects
     
  25. UnityisC00L

    UnityisC00L

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same error. I tried everything I could for 3 hours but I still do not know why? I keep getting the invalid project path message. It is not a good sign so far. Please help.
     
  26. takito

    takito

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    OK so the way I got around this problem

    1. Install the Unity 2017.4.40of1 (LTS)
    2. Open it and create new project
    3. Once it opens Close it and open the unity hub, the project should be there.
    4. Change Unity Version to the version you need, in my case I want the latest release 2019.3.14of1
    5. Follow the steps to convert and that's that.

    hope it works for at least some of you guys!
     
unityunity