Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Invalid editor window UnityEditor.FallbackEditorWindow sinceupdated to 2019.4.12

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by dgoyette, Oct 8, 2020.

  1. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4,192
    Since updating to 2019.4.12, I keep getting this console error occasionally in play mode:

    I've already tried Layout -> Revert Factory Settings, and restarted Unity but I'm still seeing the error.

    Anyone know if this is a regression in the latest 2019 LTS version? Or if that's just a coincidence? I'm not finding any other approaches to resolving this. Here's what my layout looks like: It's just standard Unity windows, plus ProBuilder:

    upload_2020-10-8_13-17-4.png
     
    wlwl2 and BlueBananaProductions like this.
  2. Luis_Fernandes

    Luis_Fernandes

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    I am having the same issue... constantly..
    Reset... works fine for a time... same issue again..
     
    BlueBananaProductions likes this.
  3. BlueBananaProductions

    BlueBananaProductions

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Same issue, and also the scene view is blank in the project for some scenes (though these scenes will still play, and the game view is populated). Unity editor gives the following error when I try to switch layouts (using: Window > Layouts > Default) or revert windows to factory settings:

    ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
    Parameter name: dest
     
  4. Liderangel

    Liderangel

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Posts:
    100
    Same here, restarting the Layout only lasts for 1 session.
     
    wlwl2 likes this.
  5. pensionerov

    pensionerov

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Have this issue. Resetting layout helps only until next restart.
     
  6. tarcis_silva

    tarcis_silva

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same thing here :/
     
  7. chanon81

    chanon81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    168
    Same thing after upgrading from 2019.4.10f1 to 2019.4.13f1
     
  8. Liderangel

    Liderangel

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Posts:
    100
    I filled a bug report (Help > Report a bug...). I suggest that all of you also do this so they can see the issue and fix it.
     
  9. Liderangel

    Liderangel

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Posts:
    100
    Malbers and wlwl2 like this.
  10. Beyer_Studios

    Beyer_Studios

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I have this same problem in 2022
     
  11. ScopeDopeBC

    ScopeDopeBC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Same issue here, popped up when I started using Gaia