Search Unity

Introducing vBug: Visual Debugging | Playability testing | Usability testing

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Michiel-Frankfort, Nov 20, 2014.

1. Michiel-Frankfort

Michiel-Frankfort

Great news! vBug is finally live! After a year of development and testing, vBug has been accepted by Unity and is now available in the asset-store: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/24747

It allows developers to debug and test games in a whole new way! It will record the screen, the player input, fpps & memory info, the complete hierarchy, component information, mesh-data and particle-data every frame! You review this data in unity in an unprecedented intuitive way.

Check out the trailer:

Check out the first tutorial:

Documentation:
    http://www.frankfortsoftware.com/vbug/vbug - documentation - v1.0.pdf

Let me introduce myself: my name is Michiel Frankfort and I’m a senior gameplay-programmer and designer at Little Chicken Game Company in Amsterdam - The Netherlands. During my many-years experience with Unity3D, I learned a great deal about the inner workings of the Unity3D game-engine.

While I was working on one of Little Chickens biggest projects, I learned that debugging and especially QA-testing can yield test results that are not always very useful or simply lack viable information. Thats why I started vBug, a tool that should give clear insight in player-behaviour but also helps the developer reproduce and fix problems.

Let me know what you think. Im very excited!

Last edited: Nov 20, 2014
  2. bjornrun

bjornrun

This looks very interesting. Is it compatible with U5 beta?

3. Michiel-Frankfort

Michiel-Frankfort

Thanks!

I'm currently investigating U5 Beta. Unity changed the way shaders and materials work and that requires some extra testing and debugging.

In order to make all the platforms work and support Unity 5, it will take some time. Once I have a version ready for Unity 5, I will announce it here,

Cheers!