Search Unity

Assets Introducing Texture Wang, node based procedural texture generator

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by dizzy2003, Apr 15, 2018.

1. dizzy2003

dizzy2003

Its on public beta on github before eventually going to the asset store

https://github.com/dizzy2003/TextureWangBeta

Runs almost entirely on the GPU so has really fast iteration and realtime updates even with hundreds of nodes.

It's like blenders texture node system or a cut down Substance Designer, but integrated into unity.

Currently supports animating textures, float half or byte based maths, subroutines, exporting paramaters. Generates albedo,normal,heightmap, occlusion maps, supports tessellated shaders.

Looking for people to test, and hopefully get some showcase art/ more subroutines, as a programmer I'm not the best at creating textures :)

2. _M_S_D_

_M_S_D_

Oooh, interesting :D Will have a look!

3. dizzy2003

dizzy2003

I made a tutorial on how to use TextureWang

twobob and ecurtz like this.
  4. ecurtz

ecurtz

This looks fantastic! Will there be the equivalent of a stand-alone substance that can be released separately and still configured at runtime?

5. dizzy2003

dizzy2003

That wouldnt be too hard to do, but at the moment I'm only really implementing features I need myself in my own project.

6. pwTA

pwTA

Your tool rocks, dizzy2003! I'm a senior technical artist - with distinct emphasis on TECHNICAL - at a small-ish studio and am all-in on procedural tools that help make up for my distinct lack of skills with Photoshop and a Cintiq. :rolleyes: Being able to largely re-use node networks to adapt them to similar needs on completely different projects, as well as iterate quickly to tweak the look of the texture(s), makes something like absolutely invaluable. Kudos as well for NO crashes or other weirdness in a whole afternoon of messing around.