Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for your feedback about Templates! Tell us about your experiences by taking our survey.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Introducing Cinemachine 2.7.1!

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by marc_tanenbaum, Nov 23, 2020.

  1. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    464
    Hello friends!

    We're delighted to announce that Cinemachine 2.7.1 has now been officially published to Package Manager.

    Note that 2.7.1 has not yet been verified, so approach it will appropriate caution. The 2.7 series, which will be the verified version for the upcoming 2021.1 and backwards compatible as far as 2019.4, includes some nice improvements which I'll detail below. You can read the complete changelog here.

    To add Cinemachine 2.7.1 to a project, open the Package Manager (Window > Package Manager), find Cinemachine in the list, and click Install on 2.7.1.



    To add to a project that currently contains Cinemachine, open the Package Manager (Window > Package Manager), find Cinemachine, and click Update to 2.7.1.

    In either case, don't forget to check out the included Samples to see what Cinemachine can do!

    Changes from 2.6.3 to 2.7.1

    The first change - which might alarm you! - that you'll notice right away is that the Cinemachine menu has vanished. Fear not, the functionality isn't gone; we're simply giving you back some top-level menu real-estate, and integrating Cinemachine more directly into traditional Unity workflows. Cinemachine objects are now created just like any other GameObject: from the GameObjects menu (and in all the other places that GameObjects are generally created).





    Next, we've introduced a new and improved 2D confiner. CinemachineConfiner2D provides a way for the user to limit the camera into an area defined by a polygon. This is useful for ensuring that the camera moves only in ways that properly support your game.

    The new confiner has a number of advantages over what came before. It's faster, and better at dealing with damping in corners and undersized behavior (camera window is bigger than the original confining area). It also works with both Orthogonal and Perspective cameras.



    Note that the confining area may not be precise everywhere due to computational costs, but it will be a close approximation. This is expected at edges that are not perfectly horizontal or vertical. Moreover, the extremities of acute angles may be hard to reach.

    The next big items are a pair of often-requested lens improvements, allowing Cinemachine to control and report on more aspects of how the Camera behaves.
    • The Virtual Camera Lens can now override orthographic and physical camera settings.


    • The Virtual Camera Lens inspector now respects the display of Horizontal FOV from the Camera.


    Finally (and not counting the usual batch of bug fixes), you'll find a new option in the ImpulseListener called ApplyAfter. This allows you to choose whether a confiner also confines impulses and noise.




    As always, we hope you get great use out of the new version and all these improvements. If you have any questions, problems, complaints, ideas, or praise, don't hesitate to post in this forum! We always love to hear from our friends and users.
     
  2. voyagecreations

    voyagecreations

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi ,

    With Unity 2020.1.14f1 and Cinemachine 2.7.1 , when i opt for " DOlly Camera with track",

    1.The green tracks are not appearing , I am not able to draw a path where i want my camera to move.
    2. The red camera for the main camera is not showing up

    Can you please look into this and respond?

    Thanks
    Shayak
     
  3. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    464
    Thanks very much for the report @voyagecreations and welcome to the forum! In general, we recommend you create a separate thread for a support request. Putting all 2.7.1 support questions in this thread will get messy very fast. That said, I'll ask the team to investigate.
     
  4. patbaril

    patbaril

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    8
  5. bahargungor

    bahargungor

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, I imported the package but I don't see "Cinemachine" in my game object menu? What might cause that?
     
  6. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    marc_tanenbaum likes this.
  7. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    Hello @Gregoryl ,
    How safe is it to upgrade Cinemachine on Unity2019.3.9 ?
    I was actually looking for a solution about my "2d polygon confiner with perspective camera issue" and this update came out ^^
     
  8. fasilend

    fasilend

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks.
     
  9. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    Well, we only test on the LTS version of 2019 so no guarantees, but my gut feeling is that you should be ok.
     
    RemDust likes this.
  10. StraitsResearch

    StraitsResearch

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello! I'm brand new to trying Unity, and have got myself into a pickle.

    TLDR: I have 165 CS0246 errors I don't know how to correct
    I am following the Unity tutorial for creating the John Lemon game found here:https://learn.unity.com/project/john-lemon-s-haunted-jaunt-3d-beginner

    I followed every step and everything was fine and working up until "The Camera" tutorial section introducing the Cinemachine.

    The tutorial mentions selecting the "Cinemachine" drop-down menu from the top menu and selecting the "create virtual camera" option. The "Cinemachine" drop-down menu should be between the "Component" and "Window" drop-down menus. However, in my Unity version, there was no such option. "Component" and "Window" were next to each other, and "Cinemachine" was nowhere to be found.

    I am using Unity version "2019.4.5f1 Personal", and the beginning of the tutorial let me select the version I am using as "2019.4", so I figured it was the same, but apparently not. I looked through some online info about the Cinemachine and discovered there was a version 2.7.1 update that moved it to the "GameObject" menu, but it was not there either. I think I had version 2.5.0, or something - I'm not sure how to check the prior version I had. The same page mentioned how to update my Cinemachine to version 2.7.1 by using the "Package Manager", which I proceeded to install.

    That worked, and I now had the Cinemachine in the "GameObject" menu and I was able to continue with the tutorial.

    After setting up the virtual camera to follow the MC though, I tried to test the game and there are 165 errors, which are all variations of the same thing:

    "Library\PackageCache\com.unity.quicksearch@3.0.0-preview.2\Editor\Indexing\SearchIndexEntryImporter.cs(126,45): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'AllowCaching' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)"

    I tried searching for related errors but didn't find any cases that mirrored mine, only individual examples of error CS0246 and how to correct them by renaming items, which I'm not confident in doing for 165 objects.

    I don't know much about Unity or programming, but I understand this to mean that the naming convention of at least 165 objects Unity uses has either changed or been lost? I guess from the Cinemachine update?

    I don't know how to easily fix all 165 instances. I tried removing the Cinemachine update I did but the errors remained and far more warnings were added to the console.

    I have thought about uninstalling Unity altogether and reopening my project, but will that cause further problems? The work I did after updating Cinemachine I already saved, so would that be a problem? Or simply deleting the virtual camera I created sufficient to revert it?

    I'm fairly confident that the Cinemachine update is the cause of all the problems since the play feature worked prior to starting the camera tutorial, but maybe I am even wrong in this since this is all new to me.

    Any help would be most appreciated!
     
  11. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    It's not obvious that the errors are from Cinemachine. The one you quoted is not.

    It sounds as though your project got corrupted somehow, possibly because of import problems. You may have installed some mutually incompatible packages.

    The first thing to try is Reimport All. If that fails, then we can look at the package manager to figure out which packages you don't need.

    upload_2020-12-28_11-30-40.png
     
  12. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    Hi there :)
    Do you guys know where i can find a practical demonstration of the new confiner2D in a perspective camera setup ?
    I find it reaaaaally hard to create the confiner polygon so it fits the proper framing.

    I actually think that in perspective, "drawing" the camera confiner itself doesn't really make sense, what users would ultimately need is to draw the "FOV CONFINER", does that make any sense and do you think it is doable ? :D
     
  13. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    If your game is taking place on a plane, draw the confiner on that plane. If the camera's local Z axis is normal to that plane, then the camera's view will be confined correctly to the drawn shape. If the camera is looking obliquely at that plane, then results will degrade but can still be usable.

    What are you finding to be difficult about drawing the shape?
     
  14. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    Oh ! I just realized that the issue was about the Max Window Size parameter, setting this to zero actually confines the camera like you said. I do get pretty jiggery behaviour in "corners" though... :/
     
  15. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    Can you show an example of this? We recommend setting the Damping parameter to non-zero (0.5 is nice) so that you don't get snapping in corners.
     
  16. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    Plot twist, the damping does get rid off the snapping but actually setting max window size to zero improved the Confiner but camera fov is still a bit off.

     
  17. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    Can you clarify? It's not clear from your picture. How is it off?
     
  18. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    If I understand correctly, from the scene view the confiner should not allow the camera to show passed the yellow line on the right. In game view the player sees "too much". If that makes sense ^^

    Image Update :

    I'm not expecting to see the red part in game view. Am I wrong ?
     
  19. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    You are not wrong. Can you show me the full inspector for your vcam?
     
  20. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    Sure, thanks :)




    I'm gonna investigate a bit on the Follow Target side of things.
    I'll get back to you soon, thank you for your help, as always !
     
  21. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    This is a clue:

    upload_2021-1-5_14-41-44.png

    Can you lower the FOV of the vcam until this warning goes away?
     
  22. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    That did the trick, good catch !
    The FOV is not even close to what I need though :D
     
    Gregoryl likes this.
  23. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    For best performance, you should set the Max Window Size to the largest window size you expect to have. For perspective cams, Window size in this context means how big the camera window would be on the confiner plane.
     
    gaborkb and RemDust like this.
  24. RemDust

    RemDust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    337
    I ll try and tweak that then, thanks a lot !
    I ll let you know how good it turns out
     
    Gregoryl likes this.
  25. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,942
    Where can I change the Cinemachine Gizmo?
     
  26. Anhella

    Anhella

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    60
    Good Day
    I am using cinemachine free look camera and i want to know do you have a tutorial on aiming with crosshair?
    my aim is off a bit how to fix please?
    thanks
     
  27. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    464
    @Anhella have I got a video for you!

     
  28. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    464
    @Lars-Steenhoff sorry, I think I missed your question. You want to change the look of the gizmo? I think you'll find what you're after under Packages/Cinemachine/Gizmos.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  29. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,942
    Yes the gizmo, I did change that one but is does not take effect, not even after restarting unity. So my guess is that maybe its sourced from another place?
     
  30. Anhella

    Anhella

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    60
    Good Day
    thanks for the tutorial. i have another question. when my player jumps the free look cinemachine camera jiggle hard.
    how to fix?
     
  31. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    464
    @Anhella

    I think you'll get more help on your support questions if you open them in a fresh thread and provide more specific detail. This thread is really about the 2.7.1 release.

    @Lars-Steenhoff

    I'd suggest that maybe the same would be helpful for you as well (a dedicated thread). I've checked and I guess you're right...it seems like the icon is resistant to change, though I'm not immediately sure why that is. Possibly something to do with package integrity. Anyway, if you ask in a new thread, I suspect one of our engineers will be happy to explain.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  32. Anhella

    Anhella

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    60
    good day
    i am using cinemachine free look 2.7.1 release.
    and when the player jump the camera jiggles going up and coming down.
    how to fix.
    thanks in advance
     
  33. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    Yes, packages are read-only, and Unity magically undoes any changes you make to them. You can customize a package by first embedding it into your project (copy it from the package cache to you project's Packages folder), then changing it.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  34. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    4,604
    Please start a new thread by pressing this button:

    upload_2021-1-25_10-40-20.png
     
  35. MegamaDev

    MegamaDev

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Posts:
    67
    Sweee-ee-eet! I always wanted to have this~

    Pleased to hear about the improved bounds support. Can't wait to try it out :)
     
  36. Anhella

    Anhella

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    60
    do anyone knows how to delete the inbox messages.
    thanks
     
unityunity