Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Intersection Shader help needed for a newb

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Amuscaria, Oct 13, 2017.

1. Amuscaria

Amuscaria

Hello all. I'm trying to write a shader that renders a plane white wherever it intersects with other geometry, otherwise it's a solid black. Refer to the image below:

StencilShader.png

I'm completely new to Unity, and started using it for my college research project couple of months ago. The point of this shader is to fake the black and white image effect of a ultrasound (a very barebones look is enough). I'll parent a camera to the plane with the shader, that only renders the plane and nothing else, and have that displayed on a secondary display area on the screen. I figured a intersection shader would be the simplest approach, but I've actually not found a single example online.

I've seen cross section ones, where the geometry is actually cut away and anything below the plane is filled with a solid color. But that's beyond my needs. I've also found a Winston Barrier example from the youtuber "Making Stuff Look Good" that sort of does what I want, but not really. I've also found this example:

Code (csharp):
    2. Shader "Unlit/Intersection Glow"
    3. {
    4.     Properties
    5.     {
    6.         _Color ("Color", Color) = (1,0,0,1)
    7.     }
    8.     SubShader
    9.     {
    10.         Tags { "RenderType"="Transparent" "Queue"="Transparent" }
    11.         LOD 100
    12.         Blend One One // additive blending for a simple "glow" effect
    13.         Cull Off // render backfaces as well
    14.         ZWrite Off // don't write into the Z-buffer, this effect shouldn't block objects
    15.         Pass
    16.         {
    17.             CGPROGRAM
    18.             #pragma vertex vert
    19.             #pragma fragment frag