Search Unity

Interpolate to black & white shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Hoshiqua, Oct 1, 2018.

1. Hoshiqua

Hoshiqua

Greetings !

I am totally new to Shaders in Unity, and seeing as I want to try and make something that looks good for once, I came up with a handful of ideas to improve my current project's graphics.

In that project, the player is able to slow / stop time. When that happens, I'd like for the whole world (UI included, maybe, but not necessarily) to go to shades of grey instead of colors (for example by taking the highest color value and applying it to the other two channels, and keeping the current alpha).

I don't think writing / "graphing" such a shader would be all that difficult. However, I need some pointers on the transition itself. See, I'd like for the effect to settle in smoothly, altough even that is optionnal really. As such, I came up with two potential solutions, and I'd really appreciate if someone could tell me if at least one of these is the right one given my objective, and if I've missed any alternatives.

Solution 1 : use whatever shader I currently use for when the world is in colored, as normal. When I want to switch to black & white, I somehow manually change the shader of all of the relevant objects to a shader that makes them render in black & white, keeping their former shader and properties in memory for when I want to transition back. This solution sounds pretty simple but crude, and I don't see how it could allow for a smooth transition.