Search Unity

Internal Blender importing doesn't import all actions

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by aleksigron, Mar 15, 2013.

1. aleksigron

aleksigron

So I'm pretty new to animations both in Unity and Blender, but otherwise I have used these programs for years now.

I'm creating a first person adventure game and currently I am animating the player character and bringing them into the game. I have separated the animations into multiple actions. When I bring the model into Unity by first exporting an FBX file into the assets folder everything works as expected. But I feel like the constant exporting is a bit of a hassle and there's always the danger of not remembering to change all the export settings the right way.

So obviously I would like to put the .blend file directly into the assets folder and just edit it right there with no need to export every time. But when I do that, the internal importing Unity does, doesn't import the actions correctly. It only brings the default take and nothing else. I have even tried to find the problem in the Blender FBX exporter python files, but the Unity defaults are setup correctly there.

I have searched all relevant sites but I can't find anyone with this problem. Everybody always says you should just export the FBX. Should I just accept the inconvenience and export the FBX file or maybe put all the animations into one sequence and split them up in Unity?

I'm currently using Blender 2.66 and Unity 4.0.1f2. I know Unity 4.1 should be out already but it doesn't want to update.

2. pixoloco

pixoloco

hmm weird, I always use .blend and I have all my actions.
    - the animation is apply to an armature or to an objet ?
    - In blender, did you check the F button (save datablock even if it has no users) for all your actions ?

3. aleksigron

aleksigron