Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Intermediate Scripting Tutorials

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wolfie, Dec 9, 2009.

1. Wolfie

Wolfie

Feel free to correct me if you dissagree, but something I've been noticing recently is that people who aren't already familiar with Javascript, on a whole, tend to find the learning curve extremely steep for Unity. I mean, the whole WYSIWYG thing is great, I learnt that in less than a day (there are some great tutorials out there for that), but it's always the scripting that's a pain in the arse at the end of the day. Something else I noticed is that although there some good scripting tutorials for absolute beginners, after learning the basics the content seems to suddenly skyrocket to a point which just goes straight over my head. Course, it might just be because I'm thick or something, but judging by other user's comments I suspect that it might be because the guys who are writing the tutorials tend to already be experts, and because it comes as second nature to them it makes it a real challenge to explain it to others, simply because you're not automatically aware of what the reader already knows.

Now here's the thing (I'm making no guarantees of course), but does anyone thing it'd be worth my time, as a new user, to write down everything I learn as I go along in the form of a tutorial? I figured that the plus side would be that it would (theoretically) end up being everything a new user would need in order to understand using Unity, because it was all of the stuff I needed to learn Unity. Also it would be in simple language that even I can understand. The downsides however would be that, because I'm still learning, I would likely go ahead and recommend things which weren't necessarily the easiest or best way of doing something, and also progress would be very slow (as I could only write the thing at the speed that I learn it all).