Search Unity

Interesting, but...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by redindus, Sep 14, 2018.

1. redindus

redindus

Just got into this today, haven't launch Unity yet. How did I find this? Well there were some games I saw on Steam were developed by Unity. And just curious how things are setup if you going to create your own projects, etc.

I have some knowledge on C and C++, but not good. Still need to learn them if I going to continue programming. But wasn't sure how this is setup. I wanted to do something with 2D, but not sure about 3D, since it require a lot more work and I prefer to do something simple before doing a larger project.

I did saw Game Studio 2 on Steam, so many silly video games were made by this tool. But there up and down with it. So I wasn't sure if I should try using Unity or Game Studio 2, or even both to find what I need that will finish my projects.

What I want to do is create an tactical/strategy game such as Hearts of Iron Series or Great Naval Battles of World War II, etc. Played so many games based on history and none even come close what I about to do and I did though making a board game instead. The problems is that on the board game, it would be complex as hell, too much for a beginner and hardly anyone got the time messing with it or even find a opponent in your area. So I figured I should switch to PC.

Also noticed that if you pay that monthly fees for a year, they suppose to help you with your projects? Dunno if that is true or even worth it. But would like to get you guys opinions on that.

Any feedbacks would be nice, got tired of playing those games that just not up for the pace and decided to do it myself. Something simple and work my way up there.

2. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

Welcome.
    The Learn section will provide a good starting place on your journey. https://unity3d.com/learn