Search Unity

  1. Get the latest news, tutorials and offers directly to your inbox with our newsletters. Sign up now.
    Dismiss Notice

Intellisense Not Working with Visual Studio (Fix)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by DavidG_Fenex, Feb 27, 2020.

  1. HipDevelop

    HipDevelop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you !
     
  2. winwithsugi

    winwithsugi

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank u, Bro!
     
  3. TheBajaBust

    TheBajaBust

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Edit>preferences literally does nothing when I click on it. Any fixes for this? I've tried reinstalling. 2019.4.9f1
     
  4. angrypenguin

    angrypenguin

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    13,576
    And now it's not again. Same deal, no idea what's changed.

    Probably a coincidence, but I was trying to change Editor scripts both times I noticed this was busted.
     
  5. BHAVYA_PRASHANT

    BHAVYA_PRASHANT

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Works like a charm. Thanks alot!
     
  6. Numaest

    Numaest

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you! Worked perfectly.
     
  7. celechii

    celechii

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    this thread has helped me a bunch when this came up in other projects but for some reason this time none of the solutions here fixed it? using unity 2019.4 LTS, vs code on mac, the C# extension n all of the unity extensions recommended, tried regenerating the project files, nothing worked this time.

    going into vs code's settings n changing OmniSharp: Use Global Mono from auto to always fixed it for future ref :)
     
    m0guz, abgrac and yust like this.
  8. fizzd

    fizzd

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Had problems when migrating to a new PC, the first post in this thread did the trick. Thank you! Previously on my old PC the problems were solved with downgrading, but I guess that's not a problem any more.
     
  9. puneeth_allapu

    puneeth_allapu

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I can't thank you enough fir this. It totally worked!!!!!!!
     
  10. renamed

    renamed

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This really worked for me. Thank you so much!!!
     
  11. brainstuck

    brainstuck

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank You!!
     
  12. amansingh213as

    amansingh213as

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1




    Thanks Man it worked for me , I was having issue for color coding and Intellisense , and it solved it my colors are on point ,,,,,,Thankssssss
     
  13. Cardeia

    Cardeia

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This helped, thanks!
     
  14. hentaimasuta

    hentaimasuta

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you
     
  15. yust

    yust

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    This is what fixed it for me! Thank you!
     
  16. OneZero77

    OneZero77

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Posts:
    2
     
  17. OneZero77

    OneZero77

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    thank you so much <3
     
  18. Twebbers

    Twebbers

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Greatly appreciated.

    If Visual Studio is the oficial solution for Unity then this needs to always work, I know 3 (small) companies who stopped working with this engine becuase of bs like this. It used to be so much better when monodevelop was around.
     
  19. mscheschy

    mscheschy

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi I am using Unity 2020.1.0f1, VS 2019 Community 16.7.4, Unity Visual Studio 2.0.3 Plugin installed, External Script Editor is Visual Studio 2019. When i try to open the Script nothing happens. If I switch the External Script Editor to Open by file extension the Script opens in VS but intellisense don't works.

    I have no idea what i could do to make it work.
     
  20. saltysquid

    saltysquid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Posts:
    35
    I'm in the same boat as mscheschy - Using:

    Unity 2020.1.0b4
    Visual Studio Community 2019 16.7.4

    I've installed the "Game development with Unity" extension and I have Visual Studio 2019 (Community) set as my default editor. When I click on a script VS 2019 opens just fine but I have no intellisense and no debug with Unity option. This worked perfectly a month ago until I upgraded my Visual Studio version.

    I also noticed that if I open the Unity Hub (version 2.4.0) and try to "installs > add modules" and add Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019 - the installer runs and completes but when I go back to modules it's still unselected as if it never installed. May be a clue as to what's going on.

    Edit: I should note that Visual Studio Code DOES have intellisense - I just very much prefer VS 2019 over VS Code.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2020
  21. John_MSFT

    John_MSFT

    Microsoft Employee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Posts:
    114
    @mscheschy @saltysquid Thanks for sharing this info. I certainly want to help resolve this.

    Can you use the Help > Report a Problem menu in VS to file these issues? In the meantime, I'll investigate what I can on my end.
     
  22. quintonleongnam

    quintonleongnam

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    9
  23. chemoduck64

    chemoduck64

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am new to Unity and programming in general. I was having problems with intellisense not working but I resolved that inside the Unity "preferences" by setting VS to primary Script Editor. Everything seems to work now, except when I type something out like a float variable, I don't get a color change on the numbers and the scripts are not working as well so I know something is not working but I have no idea what is wrong. Even if I download a premade controller script, it still blacks them out.Please help! I have included images of my settings and what the code looks like. I am using VS community 2019 and Unity version 2019.4.11
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 4, 2020
  24. tutaBugarin

    tutaBugarin

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I legit searched the whole web, tried 43 methods(yes, I counted), nothing worked... I now installed VS Code and the Unity Debugger and it works very good!
    You saved me!:D
     
  25. Lumpazy

    Lumpazy

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    yay. i looked for hours at c# intellisense and packages / reinstalls etcetcetc ..
    This worked. totally mysterious.
    Thank you
     
  26. ahmedaniss

    ahmedaniss

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    75
    problem fixed here :
     
  27. A_Sloane

    A_Sloane

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks man ! It solves the problem with me after installing the last version (Unity 2020.1.8f1)
     
  28. LeFuji

    LeFuji

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    This just saved my day. I just reseted my windows and it was physically painfull to write every function inherited from a Unity Asset. This little guide should pop up after a fresh Unity installation.
     
  29. BRSHR

    BRSHR

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    it works. thank you. i have back intellisense
     
  30. Tiglath

    Tiglath

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Fantastic. Thanks
     
  31. YOJIMMY

    YOJIMMY

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thx a lot, it really me to code as a beginner !!
     
  32. Warp-Lemon

    Warp-Lemon

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you. I forgot to click the "Regenerate project files". It worked as charm.
     
  33. UrluBerlu

    UrluBerlu

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    So happy I ended in this thread. You, sir, have saved my day!
    Thank you so much!
     
  34. reeseschultz

    reeseschultz

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    Linux user here. To my knowledge, I have everything configured properly, but for some reason, now all the csproj files Unity (2020.1.10) generates are littered with
    <ReferenceOutputAssembly>false</ReferenceOutputAssembly>
    . The result is that non-standard packages such as Entities, the new input system, UI elements, Mathematics, TMPro, etc., lose the IntelliSense goodness I've come to rely upon. So I've just been running this after cd'ing into my affected projects:

    sed -i -e 's/<ReferenceOutputAssembly>false<\/ReferenceOutputAssembly>/<ReferenceOutputAssembly>true<\/ReferenceOutputAssembly>/g' *.csproj


    That solves my problem for now, but I'd really appreciate if someone from Unity could fix this. Looks like this issue is related to what was discussed in this post regarding 2019.3.12, where an editor script was created to perform the same replacement.
     
  35. abgrac

    abgrac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    @celechii , OmniSharp's Use Global Mono ALWAYS solution is working like a charm. Thank you!
     
  36. Haverstaken

    Haverstaken

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    It worked! Thanks
     
  37. cficara

    cficara

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    I tried everything in this post with no luck.

    Weird, because the project was working fine yesterday, and now is not detected properly on Visual Studio Community 2019. Also weird, because other project (same Unity 2019 LTS version, same VSC 2019) is working perfectly fine.

    However, I got it fixed. On solution explorer, there was a yellow box saying something in the lines of "for best results, is recommended that you install blah blah blah". Clicked it and it installed a 3.3 GB package for deploying .NET apps (?)

    After doing that, everything worked perfectly fine. Something else to try if nothing else works.
     
  38. Alex_May

    Alex_May

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    196
    Please can somebody explain to me why this keeps happening? What is happening between updates of Unity and Visual Studio that keeps breaking this functionality?
     
  39. AaronVictoria

    AaronVictoria

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    155
    Yea, something is always happening to Unity. It's why so many people I know will remain on old, nearly deprecated versions of the engine just to avoid the hassle. Since updated to 2019.4.13f1, I can't even click the reference in the script field to jump to the location of the script in the project view.

    To test things, I installed a fresh version of 2019.4.12f1 and it all works perfectly fin in that last release. Oddly enough, I even installed both version on my test laptop that is pretty much a fresh Windows 10 install that I use to ensure something I'm working on isn't bugged due to something extra I may have installed on my development rig. On that laptop, 2019.4.13f1 is doing the exact same thing where as 2019.4.12f1 isn't, so there is some issue between versions. I've sent a report to Unity about it.
     
  40. Hakohn

    Hakohn

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Perfect, thanks a lot buddy!
     
    AaronVictoria likes this.
  41. Mike_Jansen

    Mike_Jansen

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I Just got a new laptop, and Unity 2019.4.14f1 personal was one the first downloads I installed. It installed VS 2019 Community, but like everyone else here, when I opened my first script, intellisense would not recognize any of the Unity libraries or references. I've tried every fix I've seen here, and still no luck. I've even gone as far as to uninstall and reinstall both of them. I'm pretty new to c# work, but I've done tones of work with VB.Net in Visual Studio, and it seems like the IDE isn't loading the references to the unity DLL files. Any idea how to manually check it? Or Fix this highly annoying problem?
     
  42. glreese

    glreese

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Where is this setting (OmniSharp) in VS Studio? I am on 2019.4.1 and nothing has worked. I have tried most of the suggestions... huge waste of time. Intellisense just stopped working...
     
  43. John_MSFT

    John_MSFT

    Microsoft Employee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Posts:
    114
    If you're experiencing issues with Visual Studio and none of the suggestions here work, please click my name on the left and choose Start a Conversation to send me a message. I'll be happy to help troubleshoot and unblock your progress.

    That also helps me get the chance to better understand the scenario and issue you're having so I can collect that data and get it fixed. Thanks in advance!
     
    Alex_May likes this.
  44. Jmicro

    Jmicro

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks... Thanks so Amazing... Searching for 2 Days...
    Why is Unity Installing this Programm but not doing it on its own...
     
  45. rogodoy

    rogodoy

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11
  46. rudynjeujip0

    rudynjeujip0

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks very much.
    Worked for me.
     
  47. paulmcconico

    paulmcconico

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you!
     
  48. Clivey

    Clivey

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    After doing the first post it still wasn't working in Visual Studio 2019.
    When loading from Unity, I hadn't noticed the Solution Explorer view had gone ( I just thought i'd hidden it)
    What fixed it for me was got to View Solution Explorer and then I saw something I should have noticed, a warning about incompatibility. So I right clicked the project and selected fix the issue and it all came back.
     
  49. Panicrust

    Panicrust

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    It worked! Thank you so much :3
     
  50. d3adlyjoker

    d3adlyjoker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks dude, a lifesaver
     
unityunity