Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Intel 9900K, 8700K or 2700x ryzen: game development

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by senseiGoodie, Oct 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senseiGoodie

senseiGoodie

Hi everybody,

I have some experience in Unity3D, C# and app development with this engine, and now I need to buy a new desktop.

The main question I would like to ask you is what you think it would be better for game development, VR and normal games, in Unity: 8700k or 2700x. maybe 9900K but it is a really hot CPU...and for 600€...

This will also involved working with other graphical design, modelling and rendering tools.
    GPU will be 1080ti or 2080.

I have been thinking about ryzen, due to the high number of cores and threads, and multicore features Unity has introduced in last updates, but when coding I do not know if I would use them...who knows.

On the other hand, if I sometimes play games, I would also have a good performance, but the main objective is to save time when compiling, rendering, baking, etc. and works fluently.

What is the best CPU, among the ones I have mentioned above, for game development in Unity?

Thanks.

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

Currently the best CPU is the Intel 9900K. The Ryzen series was only king for the relatively short time period that they had more cores than Intel. Once Intel caught up in core count their higher IPC (Instructions Per Cycle) won the race for them.

That said the 2700X is fantastic value (and realistically it's only behind by 20%) and you will have an upgrade path to the 3000 series when it launches in Spring whereas Intel often requires a new motherboard for new generations.