Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Integration of Third Party Software in VR Unity

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by k190346, Dec 4, 2023.

  1. k190346

    k190346

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    I am making a project in unity in which i have to view and interact with third party software like radar in VR . i will be on ship and i have to view my radar app in display screen of ship . How can i do this ? radar app will be running along with my unity project and whatever function i will interact with radar display i want it to update also.
     
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    10,735
    It is very unclear by description how things suppose to work?
    Can you rephrase please.

    Do you mean like 3rd party app in your app, which running on VR?

    Or you want radar on mobile?

    Anyway, if is any third party service, you most likely want to contact them, to find out, how to connect app to Unity project. Or otherwise. Perhaps instructions and subscription details are o the page.

    If the radar app is an external app of your making, then you may want to develop networking solution, connecting VR app with radar.
     
  3. neginfinity

    neginfinity

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    13,498
    OVR toolkit can display programs on top of VR display, I believe.

    For actual program, I think you can grab its window using DC winapi functions. Might not be perfect and there might be artifacts.
     
  4. k190346

    k190346

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    What i meant that is i have an application whose display i want to see in my unity vr game while playing but that should be in small screen like a pop up or in canvas . i want the live display of that application . my game will be running and when needed player will pop up that display screen to see whats going on that display. but that doesn't mean that unity vr game gets pause and all i see is another display. i want the display to be visible in my game. furthermore if possible i want to interact with that screen also