Search Unity

Instantiating a class: purpose & context?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Ian2333, May 30, 2019.

1. Ian2333

Ian2333

Hi All,

Beginner here. I have come across many tutorials that does something like: "Enemy slime = new Enemy(5, 20);" .

I understand that the above script instantiates a pre-written Enemy class to be called slime. Slime will have let's say 5 damage and 20 health. Similarly, I can also instantiate skeletons or goblins with diff stats from the Enemy class.

My question is, what's the purpose for instantiating Enemy to slime? In what context is slime used for? Maybe I want an actual slime to be spawned inside the actual game? But shouldn't it be represented as a gameobject that contains components like transform, mesh renderer and rigidbody? Do I just attach the instantiated slime to a instantiated gameobject like a component but with code?

Sorry I'm a bit lost...

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

"slime" means overall nothing. It's a variable name. In this case it just represents an instance of the class Enemy. Since it's using "new" it's not a monobehaviour script and thus isn't attached to a gameobject, so it's simply data being used. In this case you could name the variable whatever you want, it was just named slime in this case.

If you create a Gameobject with the name slime and create a prefab, you instantiate it to add it to the scene.

The above code doesn't create the Gameobject.

3. kdgalla

kdgalla

In that case you probably don't need to use "new" at all. Just use GameObject.Instantiate:

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Object.Instantiate.html

Instantiate is part of the Unity API. It's actually using "new" behind the scenes to create the instances.

4. Vryken

Vryken

As for what purpose you would need for instantiating an object, it just depends on what you need to do with it.