Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Visual Effect Graph

Discussion in '2018.3 Beta' started by JJ_FX, Nov 13, 2018.

1. JJ_FX

JJ_FX

Hi,

So Im trying to somehow run the fx graph. But Im a git noob so maybe thats why I dont understand why It doesnt work for me.

Im following instructions from: https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/ScriptableRenderPipeline/tree/release/2018.3

What I did was:
    1 - Installed latest 2018.3 beta (because according to https://unity.com/visual-effect-graph its only available in 2018.3)
    2 - cloned a repo (with github desktop) from https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/ScriptableRenderPipeline to my project so its something like .../MyProject/ScriptableRenderPipeline
    3 - after that it says to run > git checkout Unity-2018.1.0b2 in the console. But it didnt work. What has worked was > github checkout Unity-2018.1.0b2. Which opened github desktop and wanted to add another repo inside ...\MyProject\ScriptableRenderPipeline\checkout. But... I just picked ...\MyProject\ScriptableRenderPipeline\ because this was the only thing I could do.
    4 - and in the end I edited manifest.json to this: https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...estProjects/HDRP_Tests/Packages/manifest.json

So now when I run MyProject I get an error on load and it looks like manifest.json doesnt understand whats going on there. It gives few paths and says that they cannot be found.

https://imgur.com/a/EPP2w1U

Last edited: Nov 13, 2018
  2. JJ_FX

JJ_FX

Ok I managed to run a project. It looks like that you have to manually put your project path in manifest.json. I thought those paths were relative to the current path.

But now even when I run the project It looks like that there is no fx graph. When I right click I have no option to create Visual Effect Graph. . Even though I can create an object component Visual Effect. Here is a screen: